Over 73 Judicial officers transferred

Over 73 Judicial officers transferred

In a transfer move made by the Chief Registrar Sarah Langa, over 73 judicial officers have been transferred to other stations.

The transfer list was released yesterday, which has seen Susan Kanyange moved from the Commercial Division of the High Court to replace her Court of Appeal counterpart, Godfrey Opifeni who retires from active service in January 2021.

The changes have also seen Kaitesi Mary Lukwago who has been the deputy registrar at criminal division sent to the Commercial Court whereas Godfrey Kaweesa has been sent to Lira High Court and Thadius Ayebare Tumwebaze who has been at the Court of Appeal has been appointed as a private legal secretary to the Chief Justice.

According to Langa the transfer was necessary since most of the officers have spent over three at their stations and there has been need to fill in for some responsibilities in some stations.

“Some Chief Magistrates have been assigned additional responsibilities of caretaking High Court registries due to the limited number of Registrars to undertake the responsibilities. We are still grappling with the issue of numbers, especially in the Registrars and Chief Magistrates’ ranks, and that is the reason we have not made many changes there,” she said.

Among the Chief Magistrates, Julius Borore Kyaka who has been in charge of Kabale has been appointed as the caretaker for Kabale High Court and Kule Moses Lubangula who has been in charge of Mityana has been sent as the caretaker for the High Court in Fort Portal and Kasese.

In the category of grade one magistrates, Stella Maris Amabillis has been moved from Buganda road Standards Court to Luzira as the in-charge for the magistrate’s court among other changes.

The transfers will be effective on January, 1, 2021.