NRM Takes all the Youth MP positions

Left is Central youth MP elect Agnes Kirabo, Phiona Nyamutoro and Edson Rugumayo is the new Western Youth MP.

NRM Takes all the Youth MP positions

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) has taken all the youth Member of Parliament (MP) positions from elections held yesterday.

All the legible voters gathered at the National Teachers’ College in Mubende where the country wide youth elections took place.

Youths in Uganda are represented by five Members of Parliament.

One person comes from each of the four regions, and one National Youth MP who is a female.

Kirabo Agnes  declared  winner  for central region constituency and previously served as secretary for female affairs and auditor at the NRM Secretariat.

She polled 780 votes while her closest rival, Mr Ivan Bwowe, garnered 85 votes.

Mr Bwowe is a former Makerere University guild president. He was followed by Micheal Katongole (Ind) 78 votes.

Simon Ssenyonga(ind)49 votes, Abdel Kareem Ziritwawula (Ind) nine votes, Javiira Kasumba (FDC) two votes, Alvin Ssemambya (Ind) one vote.

Elsewhere, Edson Rugumayo beat six others including Minister Beti Kamya’s son, Arnold Turwomwe.

NRM’s Rugumayo garnered 1,419 votes against Turwomwe (independent)’s 402 votes.

Adios Beineomugisha (FDC) 26 votes, James Kamukama(NUP)3 votes, Edwin Muramuzi(Independent) 41 votes.

Paul Kato who came on the independent ticket didn’t get any vote.

National Unity Platform candidate Moses Kasule was on Sunday disqualified from the race on grounds that he used a non-youth seconder to support his candidature.

In Mbale, NRM’s Bernard Odoi beat five others to be elected the Youth MP for Eastern Uganda.

Whereas in Northern Uganda, NRM’s Boniface Henry Okot beat others to become the Northern Region Youth MP.

Earlier, Phiona Nyamutooro had also been voted the new Female National Youth MP.