DP Pleased by with Party Performance in Parliamentary Elections

DP Pleased with Party Performance in Parliamentary Elections

The country’s oldest political party, Democratic Party (DP)has said they are pleased with the nine elected Members of Parliament noting that it’s a sign of triumph given the circumstances that the party went through ahead of the elections.

DP faced a setback following the formation of the National Unity Platform (NUP) party just months to elections. 10 out of 15 of its Members of Parliament crossed to NUP as well as councillors and District Chairpersons.


On Thursday, nine members of the DP party were elected Members of Parliament. They include Fred Kayondo from Mukono South Constituency, Lutamaguzi Ssemakula for Nakaseke South, Peter Okot from Tochi County, Fortunate Rose Nantongo as Kyotera Woman MP, John Mpalanyi as Kyotera MP, Eng. Richard Ssebamala for Bukoto Central, Richard Lumu for Mityana South, Lulume Bayega for Buikwe South and Geoffrey Okello for Nwoya East constituency.

The DP Spokesperson, Enock Opio Okoler said that given the challenges the party faced before the general elections, the performance of the party lays a good foundation to revive the party.