11th Parliament Chooses Their Speaker and Deputy Today

11th Parliament Chooses Their Speaker and Deputy Today

The 529 members of the 11th parliament who were all sworn in last week will today choose their speaker and deputy in the first sitting.

The first meeting will be held at Kololo play grounds presided over by Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo.

According to Article 82 of the constitution of Uganda, the Chief Justice or a judge designated by the Chief Justice presides over the election of a Speaker.

President Yoweri Museveni is expected to be in attendance since as head of state, he swears in the new speaker.

The elected speaker then will take over the house to preside over the voting for his or her deputy.

The speakership race has so far attracted Rebecca Kadaga who last evening was dropped by NRM Central Executive Committee but announced she would come as independent, her former deputy Jacob Oulanya who is the choice of CEC, FDCs Ibrahim Ssemujju, who was the former Opposition chief whip in the 10th Parliament, DP’s Richard Ssebamala and Rakai Woman MP Juliet Kinyamatama.